Su Blackwell

Today a dear friend of mine sent me a link to the artwork of Su Blackwell, a visual artist based in London. Sometimes when an idea is so brilliant I’m temporarily blinded by the disappointment  that I didn’t think of it first, which is exactly what happened to me today while looking through Blackwell’s online portfolio. Her technique and subjects are beautiful, but what I love most is that she uses books as the platforms for her elaborate paper sculptures and illustration characters. The metaphor of stories coming to life and being born from the pages of books is so obvious yet so wonderful that I’m really quite sad it never occurred to me. Here are some of my favorites:

xoxo,

Theo

One response to “Su Blackwell

  1. These are so cool! Definitely inspiring, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

