Six Questions for Crystal

We’ve made a habit of asking some of our artists and designers to answer a set of questions for us. I’m always excited to get the answers in my inbox to share, because it provides this awesome little peak into the mind of someone creative and inspiring. It’s also a reminder that all of this beautiful work, that can sometimes seem just out of reach, is made by a human with references and obsessions that might not be too different from your own. This may look more like a five question survey than six, but we here at Fair Folks like to consider the request for a photo, a sixth question.

You heard a bit about Crystal Gregory when Amy wrote about her after she did the first in our series of artist talks last month. Crystal’s work continues to hang on the walls of Fair Folks New York. Make an appointment to come check it out if you are so inclined. I’m head over heels for her drywall panels, which start at $200.

I’m loving how involved in the material she chooses for each project she is. Makes the tactile nature of her work that much more apparent.

Behold.

1. What’s inspiring your work these days?

My inspiration right now is growing from the ideas of home, pattern, and building materials

2. What is your greatest challenge as an artist?

There are so many challenges, but my greatest struggles right now happen almost every project, when the piece grows and develops into something I didn’t expect. I am learning to not be scared of that growth because it is important but to let it be a natural development.

3. If you could collaborate with any artist living or dead, who would it be?

I love the work of Swoon and Kiki Smith, but I think Gordon Matta-Clark would make a great collaboration with the work I am making right now.

4. What is the quality you are most attracted to in art?
The making process, I love being in the motion of creator, I physically and literally get to make my dreams reality.
5. What is your most prized possession?
I have a small but precious collection of old lace that I love.
Creating For Jane in Vermont feb 2010
Creating For Jane in Vermont –  Feb 2010
~Aurora
One response to “Six Questions for Crystal

  1. Pingback: Digital Park Benches from Which to Watch the World | Goats Will Eat Anything

Leave a Reply

