Paul Lingerfelt’s “The Bakkheia” (not pictured)

I am not an art critic. I don’t enjoy reading art criticism, or listening t0o intently to other folks opinions on art- what is good, what is bad, etc. To each his own. I took art history in college mainly because it was chock full of beautiful women and I enjoy walking around museums (see past posts).

However, I am well schooled on the science of body language, and I can attest to the fact that I am the lucky witness to persons one after another being knocked over by Paul Lingerfelt’s work. And include myself among them.

The image above is a fine example of his talent in ink and coffee. These kill people, break ’em into pieces. He is a story teller, and brings to mind a line from a song that I quite enjoy,

“Like an old folk song/that you’ve never even heard/still you know every word/and for sure, you can sing along.”

And I don’t mean to say he does “folk” art. Not at all. That just happens to be one of the words in that particular song. What I mean to say is that there are stories, scenes in his work, that are both familiar and out of reach at the same time. People stand and stare, sometimes speechless, sometimes uttering things like, “Can you believe this?”

I say dumb things, like, “I know, right?” or “It’s nuts, right?” I am still getting the hang of this job.

And then folks apologize for lingering. As if I have somewhere to be. And then some people inevitably return, this time with a friend, and repeat- now to their friend, “Can you believe this?”

Paul is wildly popular in the neighborhood. And his friends and people who aren’t his friends knock on the door at all hours of the day/week to see his work. I have to be honest and admit that I enjoy the company, and usually let everyone in.

Anyway, what I believe- and again, really, who cares about my opinion- to be his finest work on display here at Fair Folks New Orleans is the title piece of the show, “The Bakkheia.”

I do not have a photograph of this yet. I definitely need to take a photograph, because it has sold and will not be with us much longer. Which makes me a little sad, but I’m happy someone else will have it to enjoy it in their home or wherever.

It will be here and on display for the rest of the month though, and if you are in town, I strongly suggest taking the time to come and see it, along with the other works. You will not be let down.

On the 13th, we are going to keep our doors open late to celebrate the work again as with so many folks in town for Prospect 1.5 and it being a Saturday and all. Please come by.

Pace Fuori,

Anthony

Leave a Reply

