Alexandra Grecco, and The Questions

I was talking about inspiration last week when I said adieu for the weekend. A simple little gathering of images, filled with colors you love or a slew of textures that gets your mind racing with ideas is all well and good. But to really take inspiration from images-on-which-to-riff, to the sort of thing that inspires action, that requires action… for me it takes the example of a person and their story.

Todays story comes to you from Alexandra Grecco, the eponymous founder and designer behind her clothing line. We’ve just started carrying her beautiful assortment in our New Orleans location, and it is just what I want to be wearing right now. Romantic, luxurious stuff, with a definite point of view but not over wrought with frivolous details, so you can make it your own through styling.

I first fell in love with Alexandra’s work after seeing her website, with photography that is just to die for. What a mood it captures! Talk about styling – it’s spot on here. Behold, some images of her upcoming Spring ’11 collection, which we don’t yet have in stock, but which have me pining for warmer days.

 

Alexandra Grecco Spring 11 1

 

 

 

 

 

She is actually based in New York, and I have my fingers crossed that we can do something with her in our New York location as well. If you’re interested in seeing what we’re carrying specifically or making a purchase, shoot us an email at thegoat [at] fairfolksandagoat [dot] com. Everything that we carry currently is from her Fall/Winter collection which can be seen on this completely adorable film short that you reallllllly should watch, even if just to perk up your day and not drool over the clothing. (Why can’t I embed it here, Vimeo? Why?)

 

Alexandra was kind enough to share some words with us, in the form of our much loved questions:

 

1. What’s inspiring your work these days?

I went to Mexico a few months ago and visited Frida Kahlo’s house, also known as La Casa Azul, and I was so inspired by her personal collection of photographs on display there and some of the rich colors of the flowers she wore in her hair. That visit really helped shape my upcoming Fall2011 collection!

2. Have you seen your work in new contexts, used in ways you hadn’t imagined for it?

Nothing out of the ordinary (that I know of!), but I’ve been doing some custom wedding gowns which I didn’t think I would have the opportunity to get involved with so soon, so it’s been exciting to meet with brides and get a sense of who they are and then see the gown I designed for them in such a festive and personal setting.

3. Does your material usually come before form or form before material? How about function before form or form before function?

It’s a little of both!  I usually find some great fabrics but then design a dress that I think will work better in another fabric so then I have to hunt for that said fabric.  It can get a little complicated.  And usually form before function and then I find a way to make that form functional!

4. What is your greatest challenge as a designer?

I would have to say being a good business woman has been the biggest challenge thus far; I know it’s going to be an endless learning experience! The most fun challenge, however, would be coming up with a color pallet for a collection.

5. If you could collaborate with any artist living or dead, who would it be?

The sisters of Rodarte? I’m sure everyone says that! I feel like they must dance around in a forest and braid together fabrics all day while sprinkling their gowns with fairy dust. I’d like to partake in a little of that.

6. What is your most prized possession?

Oh my, this is a tough one, maybe my Polaroids and some old photo albums that I no longer have negatives of. I also have a really amazing beaded flapper dress in my closet that I’m afraid to remove from it’s box in fear that it’s weight might tear it in half! It’s really amazing. My grandmother bought it for me.And to cap it off, a photo:


“This photo is from a beach in Oaxaca. I wish I could set up a small studio there because it’s certainly one of the most inspiring places I’ve been. I daydream about it a lot.”

 

Thank you to Alexandra for sharing! I love that she added her most fun challenge in there, in addition to the biggest challenge. Right on, with the positive thinking. I may add that to our roster of questions permanently. If you all think of things you want to hear from some of the creative minds we work with, please let us know here! The Questions are never set in stone.

 

Until next time,
Aurora
Leave a Reply

